The Bruce Swedien Scholarship Fund

“Music First!”

About Bruce Swedien
Since being publicly recognized in 1962 with his first GRAMMY® nomination, for Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons’ “Big Girls Don’t Cry,” Bruce has built a peerless body of work across eras and genres. Bruce went on to record and mix Michael Jackson's Thriller, the best-selling album in the history of recorded music. Bruce has been nominated for a total of thirteen GRAMMY Awards and won five. He has also been awarded 10 GRAMMY certificates and two ASCAP composer Awards and has been nominated for five TEC Awards. In 2001, Bruce was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Philosophy Degree from Luleå University of Technology in Luleå, Sweden, presented under ruling of King Carl XVI Gustav. In 2013 he was awarded an APRS Sound Fellowship on behalf of Sir George Martin for his “significant contribution to the art, science and business of sound recording” He is being awarded an AES fellowship award this year for his “impact in creating a sonic reference in modern popular music,” while his latest book, The Bruce Swedien Recording Method (Hal Leonard Publishing) inspires the music world.

The list of artists Bruce Swedien has recorded reads like a Who’s Who in music: Oscar Peterson, Count Basie, Duke Ellington, Quincy Jones, Michael Jackson, Woody Herman, Stan Kenton, Sarah Vaughan, Dinah Washington, Lionel Hampton, Nat King Cole, The Chi-Lites, Eddie Harris, Barbra Streisand, Sergio Mendes, Gracinha Leporace, Rufus and Chaka Khan, Siedah Garrett, Burt Bacharach, Dizzy Gillespie, Donna Summer, Buddy Miles, Don Costa, Andre Previn, Lainie Kazan, Jackie Wilson, James Ingram, B.B. King, Patti Austin, Jennifer Lopez, Fritz Reiner and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Paul McCartney, Mick Jagger, Billy Eckstein, George Benson, Natalie Cole, Roberta Flack, Lena Horne, Phil Ford and Mimi Hines, Tommy Dorsey, Jimmy Dorsey, Muddy Waters, John Lee Hooker, Jackie Wilson, The Chicago Symphony String Quartet, Nils Landgren, Dinah Shore, Herb Alpert, Diana Ross, Herbie Hancock, Herbie Mann, Eydie Gorme, the Brothers Johnson, The St. Olaf Choir, The Fine Arts Quartet, Les Paul, Louis Prima and Keeley Smith, Jennifer Holliday, Carlinhos Brown, Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons, Tyrone Davis, Art Blakey, Eddie Higgins, The Six Fat Dutchmen, Si Zentner, The Dukes of Dixieland, Michael McDonald, Bonnie Raitt, Toots Thielmans, The Jacksons, Gordon Jenkins, Anita Kerr, Ralph Shapey, The Smothers Brothers, Julie London, Ramsey Lewis, Edgar Winter, Norman Luboff, Curtis Mayfield, Bob Newhart, Ken Nordine, Peggy King, Jack Teagarden, Tommy Sands, Soupy Sales, The Hi-Lo’s, Ernie Watts, Gene Chandler, Lesley Gore, René & Angela, Rusty Truck, Cucu Diamentes and Andres Levin, Missing Persons, LTD, Sko/Torp, Cy Touf, Lalo Shifrin, Donny Hathaway, Les Brown, Tito Guizar, Barbara Acklin, Ranjit Barot, David Hasselhoff, Kurt Kaiser, Earl “Fatha” Hines, Nipsy Russell, Oscar Brown Jr. and many more. His TV credits include the miniseries Roots, and his movie credits include Night Shift, The Color Purple, The Wiz and Running Scared.

About the AESEF
The Audio Engineering Society Educational Foundation is dedicated to encouraging the entry of talented students into the profession of audio engineering. Since its establishment in 1984, the Foundation has awarded grants for graduate studies to hundreds of exceptional applicants, many of whom have gone on to prominent and successful careers in the profession. Applications are accepted from students worldwide.

Bruce Swedien

Scholarship InformationDonate Now
Bruce Swedien